• 20 May 2024
  • 369

Team Penske Dominates Indianapolis 500 Qualifying with Record-Breaking Performance

Team Penske Dominates Indianapolis 500 Qualifying with Record-Breaking Performance

McLaughlin Leads the Charge in “Yellow Submarine”

Scott McLaughlin, piloting the iconic “Yellow Submarine” entry, spearheaded a remarkable Team Penske sweep of the front row during the Indianapolis 500 qualifying session on Sunday. McLaughlin set a new track record at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway with a four-lap average speed of 234.220 mph, surpassing the previous record of 234.217 mph set by reigning IndyCar champion Alex Palou last year.

Team Penske’s Historic Front Row Sweep

In a historic feat, Team Penske drivers Will Power and reigning Indy 500 champion Josef Newgarden secured second and third positions respectively, completing a Penske sweep of the front row for the first time since 1988. That year, Penske’s lineup of Rick Mears, Al Unser Sr., and Danny Sullivan dominated the race, leading 192 of 200 laps, with Mears clinching victory in the “Yellow Submarine” car sponsored by Pennzoil. McLaughlin will race in an identical car on May 26, donning a replica of Mears’ winning firesuit to honor the four-time Indianapolis 500 winner.

Will Power’s Prediction and Competitor Reactions

Team Penske Dominates Indianapolis 500 Qualifying with Record-Breaking Performance
Image by : Yandex

Will Power had been confidently predicting a pole position for a Team Penske car, citing the extensive offseason efforts dedicated to Roger Penske’s quest for a record-extending 20th Indy 500 victory. His assertions, however, were met with some irritation from fellow competitors. Alexander Rossi, who qualified fourth for Arrow McLaren Racing, voiced his frustration after the session.

“I mean, it’s a very good starting spot for the race and we’ll move on from this,” Rossi commented. “I’m annoyed. It’s been a lot of noise from them but also a lot of motivation.”

Kyle Larson’s Dual Racing Endeavor

Kyle Larson qualified fifth for his Indianapolis 500 debut, becoming the fifth driver to attempt competing in both the Indy 500 and NASCAR’s Coca-Cola 600 on the same day. After securing his spot, Larson immediately departed for North Carolina to participate in NASCAR’s All-Star race at North Wilkesboro Speedway, with NASCAR adjusting the race start to accommodate his tight schedule.

“People used to say to me, ‘Can you believe Kyle Larson?'” remarked Jeff Gordon, vice chairman of Hendrick Motorsports, which is collaborating with Arrow McLaren to field Larson’s No. 17 car. “I used to think the same way but I don’t anymore. He always steps up. He’s just fun to watch.”

Strong Performances and Unexpected Challenges

Santino Ferrucci of A.J. Foyt Racing, benefiting from a new alliance with Team Penske, qualified sixth, ensuring all six spots in the Fast Six final group qualifying were claimed by Chevrolet drivers. The highest qualifying Honda driver was Felix Rosenqvist of Meyer Shank Racing at ninth, followed by two-time winner Takuma Sato of Rahal Letterman Lanigan and Kyle Kirkwood of Andretti Global.

In a surprising turn, Chip Ganassi Racing failed to place any of its five cars in the Fast 12, giving the team an unexpected day off.

Marcus Ericsson’s Struggles and Last-Minute Qualification

Former Ganassi driver Marcus Ericsson, who won the Indy 500 in 2022 and finished second last year, faced significant challenges with his new team. A crash in practice put Ericsson at risk of not qualifying, but a final run secured his spot at 32nd, narrowly bumping Nolan Siegel from the field.


With Team Penske’s dominant front-row sweep and McLaughlin’s record-breaking performance in the “Yellow Submarine,” anticipation is high for the upcoming Indianapolis 500. As the drivers prepare for race day, fans are eager to see if McLaughlin can emulate Rick Mears’ historic victory and bring the “Yellow Submarine” back to victory lane.